Urban Balcony Garden


I’d say without hesitation that I do not posses a green thumb. In the past, I’ve always chosen house plants that were considered low maintenance, but still managed to kill them. Over the last few years, I’ve grown various organic herbs during the summer months; mint, basil, oregano, and parsley. I’ve never really experienced difficulties in growing herbs, as they’re quite easy to take care of. I also really love the convenience of having fresh herbs available anytime for adding to recipes. On a similar note, I’ve always been really intimidated to grow vegetables, due to the lack of space/yard and horticultural experience. This summer’s going to be different though. I’m making the most of my very large, sun lit balcony, by occupying this space with various pots of herbs, vegetables, and house plants.

Attempting to grow organic veggies is way outside of my norm and experience level in the home gardening arena. But let me tell you…I’m ecstatic!!! So far I’ve planted poblano peppers, eggplants, early girl tomatoes, pear tomatoes, arugula, grapefruit mint, sage, french lavender, and basil.

Arugula sprouts


Poblano peppers, early girl tomatoes, French lavender


Look at the tomatoes! The little specks are cayenne pepper to keep the squirrels away. It didn't work. *sigh*


Grapefruit mint - smells just like a mojito


Sage

Most everything is going well and the plants are growing better than I ever expected. Not too many problems really, but just a few minor annoyances. One being the very hungry, nosy, and ridiculously large squirrels in my neighborhood. Not only are they eating and digging up my plants, but they leave gifts for me. They’ll place peanut shells into the holes that they’ve dug up, as well as strategically leaving half nibbled tomatoes from other gardens on the ledge of my balcony. I’d like to think that’s their way of paying me back for all the trouble they’ve caused, but I question their intentions. Thanks, but no thanks! At any rate, I’ve had it up to my eyeballs with these varmints! I’ve tried sprinkling cinnamon, cayenne pepper, black pepper, and even bar soap around the perimeter of my balcony, yet they continue to be destructive. Along with these methods, many articles on the internet advise the presence of predator urine to deter squirrels. Specifically fox urine. The thought of using urine kind of grosses me out, but I’m willing to try it at this point, but I still haven’t decided whether or not I’ll purchase any.

The below photo was to be the future home of a small bed of arugula, but as you can see, nothing has sprouted and there are several signs of digging as well. There’s still plenty of time to plant more arugula seeds. I think I’ll keep the box indoors until the plants are large enough to place outdoors. So yeah, I think I’ll try that method in the next week or so.

I’m really happy to see that all the plants are doing surprisingly well for the most part. I’ll post more photos of my balcony garden as the plants bear fruit in the months to come.

Happy gardening!

About Pretty, Good, & Tasty

My name is Tina. I am a mother, companion, friend, cook, gardener, writer, traveler, and lover of nature, animals, and the world. I am also a hobby enthusiast. I love designing, creating, and building just about anything. I enjoy learning new things and being able to share my experiences with others.
This entry was posted in Good, Tasty and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Urban Balcony Garden

  1. Jamie says:

    You should check out Gayla Trail at http://www.yougrowgirl.com. She is masterful at urban gardening and gives great suggestions.

Leave a Reply

