Update: Urban Balcony Garden

It has been almost three months since we planted our balcony garden and everything is growing pretty well so far. Even in spite of the constant digging by the squirrels.

The Early Girl tomatoes are doing remarkably well and we have already harvested at least 10 pieces of fruit from just one plant. Not only that, but this variety is expected to produce sweet fruit until frost; late October.

The pear tomatoes came in a little later than the Early Girls, but this little plant is now taller than I am. I counted 35 tomatoes on this plant the other day and we’ve eaten two so far. They seem to take a little longer to fully ripen.

These are a few of our first tomatoes and let me tell you….they were SO good! There’s nothing like a home-grown tomato!

Although we planted an entire packet of arugula seeds, this is all the arugula that came up. I blame the squirrels. Not even enough to make one salad. *sigh* I’m going to try and plant these again soon, but start them indoors instead.

Our eggplant finally flowered. Well, one lonely flower, but it’s a flower! The birds got to this one early, but it’s getting quite big now. I can’t wait to make an eggplant parmesan with this!

Remember the squirrels and how they were digging up everything? Well, the digging has slowed a bit and I recently noticed some sprouting of unknown plants in a few potted plants. So I pulled one out and it turned out to be a peanut plant. A PEANUT PLANT!!! I was so tickled to find this! I believe the squirrels planted a peanut and the peanut grew into this plant here. Note, it’s in the same pot as my eggplant. So I stuck the plant back in the soil to see how many peanuts we can harvest at the end of the summer.

The French lavender is now four times its original size. Still no flowers, but it smells amazing! Note, the peanut plant on the left side of the French lavender as well. Sneaky little squirrels at it again.

I didn’t bother taking any photos of the poblano pepper, sage, basil, or mint. Mostly because they weren’t as exciting to photograph. Needless to say, they’re doing better than expected. The mint, however, is growing out of control. We can’t eat it or give it away fast enough. The poblano pepper plant has plenty of flowers, but no fruit yet. YET!

That’s it for now. Stay tuned for further garden updates as Autumn approaches…

About Pretty, Good, & Tasty

My name is Tina. I am a mother, companion, friend, cook, gardener, writer, traveler, and lover of nature, animals, and the world. I am also a hobby enthusiast. I love designing, creating, and building just about anything. I enjoy learning new things and being able to share my experiences with others.
This entry was posted in Good, Tasty and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Update: Urban Balcony Garden

  1. Anisa says:

    Most veggies like to be planted after May, but peas, lettuces and spinach, and some brassicas (cabbage, cauliflower, brussels sprouts, broccoli, etc.) like it cooler – you can plant them as soon as you can work the ground – usually mid-March.

  2. Anisa says:

    Tina – when did you plant your arugula? It’s a spring/fall crop so it does best in cool weather. Our lettuces do great when we plant them outside in March! You can probably replant them this or next month too and get a bigger crop. I LOVE arugula. It’s definitely going in our garden next spring! Your lavender looks AMAZING!

    • You know, my dad told me the same thing about his lettuce. I’ve always gone by the rule of not planting until after Mother’s Day, but perhaps that rule isn’t applicable when planting seeds? I’m learning as I go and I’m going to try and plant more arugula and spinach here soon. Any advice on spinach? Thanks!!! Yes, I’m really impressed with how well the lavendar is doing. I just with it would flower already. I can’t wait to bake some lavendar cupcakes!

Leave a Reply

